Connect with us


Student Academy Award Winners Announced



The Academy recently announced the winners of this year’s Student Academy Awards. The ceremony is hosted on June 8th by Bob Saget, where gold, silver, and bronze, recipients will be revealed, but for budding young filmmakers just being announced as a winner can have huge implications for their careers. In the week preceding the ceremony, all winners will be flown to Los Angeles for a range of industry activities, and invaluable networking opportunities.

So there you go. Criticize all you like, but the Academy do make a genuine attempt to support the global film industry. It’s not all parties and self-congratulation. Most of it is. But this bit is good. I bet you wouldn’t watch it if it was on the tele though, would you? Come on, be honest? So you’re just as bad. You should be ashamed.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):

“Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College
“The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts
“Zug,” Perry Janes, University of Michigan

“Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design
“Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design
“Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts

“Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts
“A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, University of Southern California
“Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University

“Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California
“Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin
“Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia University

Foreign Film
“Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
“Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium

Just For You