Connect with us


Disney Confirm Star Wars Episode IX/Frozen 2/The Lion King Release Dates



It’s safe to say that Disney have given us plenty to get excited about today, confirming to fans of their various lucrative franchises, a barrage of release dates.

Switching from its recent tradition of dominating the Christmas period through The Force Awakens and Rogue One, Star Wars: Episode IX which will see Jurassic World’s Colin Trevorrow take the directorial reins from ‘The Last Jedi director Rian Johnson, will be debuting on 24th May 2017.

Continuing its recent and successful run of live-action reimaginings after Bill Condon’s Beauty And The Beast and Jon Favreau’s The Jungle Book, Favreau will look to do the same with The Lion King (19th July 2017), with Donald Glover already on-board to voice Simba.

Lion King

Switching our attention to animation, Kristen Bell’s Anna and Idina Menzel’s Elsa will return in Frozen 2, pencilled in for 27th November 2019 along with fellow sequel Ralph Breaks The Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2, which will hit cinemas in November 2018.


The full 2018-2021 release schedule can be found below. Let the speculation begin on those pesky untitled projects…

A Wrinkle In Time (Ava Duvernay): 9th March 2018

Magic Camp (Mark Waters): 6th April 2018

Untitled Disney Fairy Tale: 3rd August 2018

Ralph Breaks The Internet: Wreck-It Ralph 2 (Phil Johnston/Rich Moore): 21st November 2018

Star Wars: Episode IX (Colin Trevorrow): 24th May 2019

The Lion King (Jon Favreau): 19th July 2019

Untitled Disney Live Action: 9th August 2019

Frozen 2 (Chris Buck/Jennifer Lee): 27th November 2019

Untitled Disney Live Action: 3rd April 2020

Indiana Jones 5 (Steven Spielberg): 10th July 2020

Untitled Marvel (3D): 7th August 2020

Gigantic (Nathan Greno/Meg LeFauve): 25th November 2020

Untitled Disney Live Action: 12th March 2021

Untitled Pixar Animation (3D): 18th June 2021

Untitled Disney Animation (3D): 24th November 2021

Just For You