Connect with us


2018 EE BAFTAS Award Winners



The biggest night in the British film calendar. Taking place at the historic Royal Albert Hall and presented by Joanna Lumley.

This year’s EE British Academy Film Awards was dominated by Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri, winning Best Film and Best British Film as its leading lady Frances McDormand (Best Actress), actor Sam Rockwell (Supporting Actor) and writer/director Martin Mcdonagh (Original Screenplay) were also recognised.

Elsewhere. It was a hat-trick for Guillermo Del Toro’s ‘The Shape Of Water (Director/Original Music/Production Design) whilst there were two wins each for Denis Villeneuve’s Blade Runner 2049 (Cinematography/Visual Effects) and Joe Wright’s Darkest Hour (Actor/ Make Up And Hair).

Legendary director Sir Ridley Scott (Gladiator/Alien/Thelma And Louise) closed out the ceremony, as he received the prestigious BAFTA Fellowship, as Sir Kenneth Branagh and Prince William waxed lyrical about his cinematic achievements.

Next up. The Oscars.

Here’s the full list of winners…

Best Film

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – WINNER

Call Me By Your Name

Darkest Hour


The Shape of Water

Best British Film

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – WINNER

Darkest Hour

The Death of Stalin

God’s Own Country

Lady Macbeth

Paddington 2

Best Debut By A British Director/Writer/Producer

I Am Not A Witch – WINNER

The Ghoul


Kingdom of Us

Lady Macbeth

Best Actor

Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour) – WINNER

Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)

Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)

Jamie Bell (Film Stars Don’t Die In Liverpool)

Timothée Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) – WINNER

Annette Bening (Film Stars Don’t Die In Liverpool)

Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)

Sally Hawkins (The Shape Of Water)

Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)

Best Director

Guillermo Del Toro (The Shape Of Water) – WINNER

Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name)

Denis Villeneuve (Blade Runner 2049)

Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)

Best Supporting Actor

Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) – WINNER

Hugh Grant (Paddington 2)

Christopher Plummer (All The Money In The World)

Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)

Woody Harrelson (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actress

Alison Janney (I, Tonya) – WINNER

Octavia Spencer (The Shape Of Water)

Kristin Scott Thomas (Darkest Hour)

Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)

Lesley Manville (Phantom Thread)

Rising Star Award

Daniel Kaluuya – WINNER

Josh O’Connor

Florence Pugh

Tessa Thompson

Timothee Chalamet

Best Original Screenplay

Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) – WINNER

Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)

Guillermo Del Toro/Vanessa Taylor (The Shape Of Water)

Steven Rogers (I, Tonya)

Best Adapted Screenplay

James Ivory (Call Me By Your Name) – WINNER

Aaron Sorkin (Molly’s Game)

Matt Greenhalgh (Film Star’s Don’t Die In Liverpool)

Armando Iannucci/Ian Martin/David Schneider (The Death Of Stalin)

Simon Farnaby/Paul King (Paddington 2)

Best Animated Film


Loving Vincent

My Life As A Courgette

Best Film Not In The English Language

The Handmaiden – WINNER


First They Killed My Father


The Salesman

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins (Blade Runner 2049) – WINNER

Hoyte Van Hoytema (Dunkirk)

Ben Davis (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Dan Laustsen (The Shape Of Water)

Bruno Delbonnel (Darkest Hour)

Best Costume Design

Mark Bridges (Phantom Thread) – WINNER

Jacqueline Durran (Beauty And The Beast)

Jacqueline Durran (Darkest Hour)

Jennifer Johnson (I, Tonya)

Luis Sequeira (The Shape Of Water)

Best Make Up/Hair

David Malinowski/Ivana Primorac/Lucy Sibbick/Kazuhiro Tsuji (Darkest Hour) – WINNER

Donald Mowat/Kerry Warn (Blade Runner 2049)

Deborah La Mia Denaver/Adruitha Lee (I, Tonya)

Daniel Phillips (Victoria And Abdul)

Naomi Bakstad/Robert A. Pandini/Arjen Tuiten (Wonder)

Best Documentary

I Am Not Your Negro – WINNER

City Of Ghosts



An Inconvenient Sequel

Best Editing

Jonathan Amos/Paul Machliss (Baby Driver) – WINNER

Joe Walker (Blade Runner 2049)

Lee Smith (Dunkirk)

Sidney Wolinsky (The Shape of Water)

Jon Gregory (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Original Music

Alexandre Desplat (The Shape Of Water) – WINNER

Benjamin Wallfisch/Hans Zimmer (Blade Runner 2049)

Dario Marianelli (Darkest Hour)

Hans Zimmer (Dunkirk)

Jonny Greenwood (Phantom Thread)

Best Sound

Richard King/Gregg Landaker/Gary A. Rizzo/Mark Weingarten (Dunkirk) – WINNER

Tim Cavagin/Mary H. Ellis/Julian Slater (Baby Driver)

Ron Bartlett/Doug Hemphill/Mark Mangini/Mac Ruth (Blade Runner 2049)

Christian Cooke/Glen Gauthier/Nathan Robitaille/Brad Zoern (The Shape Of Water)

Ren Klyce/David Parker/Michael Semanick/Stuart Wilson/Matthew Wood (Star Wars: The Last Jedi)

Best Production Design

Paul Austerberry/Jeff Melvin/Shane Vieau (The Shape Of Water) – WINNER

Sarah Greenwood/Katie Spencer (Beauty And The Beast)

Dennis Gassner/Alessandra Querzola (Blade Runner 2049)

Sarah Greenwood/Katie Spencer (Darkest Hour)

Nathan Crowley/Gary Fettis (Dunkirk)

Best Special Visual Effects

Gerd Nefzer/John Nelson (Blade Runner 2049) – WINNER

Scott Fisher/Andrew Jackson (Dunkirk)

Dennis Berardi/Trey Harrell/Kevin Scott (The Shape Of Water)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

War For The Planet Of The Apes

Best British Short Film

Cowboy Dave – WINNER


A Drowning Man


Wren Boys

Best British Animated Short

Poles Apart – WINNER

Have Heart


Just For You