Connect with us


The 17th Marrakech International Film Festival (MIFF) Reveals its Jury Members, Honorary Awards and Line-Up



Eight unique talents of world cinema will join American filmmaker and president of the jury James Gray as jury members at the 17th Marrakech International Film Festival.

Hailing from eight different countries, these emblematic figures of auteur cinema, daring filmmakers, multi-talented artists and brilliant actresses represent diverse artistic sensibilities.

The jury this year is composed of american actress Dakota Johnson (50 shades of Grey, Suspiria), Indian actress Ileana D’Cruz (Barfi!), Lebanese filmmaker and visual artist Joana Hadjithomas (I want to see), British director Lynne Ramsay (We need to talk about Kevin, A Beautiful Day), Moroccan director Tala Hadid (House in the Fields), French director Laurent Cantet (The Class– Palme d’Or 2008), German Actor Daniel Brühl and Mexican
director Michel Franco (April’s Daughter).

From November 30th to December 8th, these nine celebrities will select the recipient of L’Étoile d’Or 2018 among the 14 first and second feature films in competition.

Honorary awards

This year the festival will pay tribute to Moroccan director Jillali Ferhati. His films include Bamboo Brides, The Beach Of The Lost Children and Pillow Secrets.

Robert De Niro, Agnès Varda and Robin Wright will also be honoured.

As previously announced, Martin Scorsese, Guillermo Del Toro and Thierry Fremaux will take part in masterclasses.

Christoph Terhechte was hired as the festival’s new artistic director earlier this year as part of the festival’s revamp. He was previously director of the Berlin Film Festival’s Forum section. Joining him on the programming team are festival executive Ali Hajji, art curator Rasha Salti, film critic Anke Leweke and Critics’ Week General coordinator Rémi Bonhomme.

Competition line-up

  • The Good Girls (Mexico), dir. Alejandra Márquez Abella
  • Joy (Austria), dir. Sudabeh Mortezai
  • Diane (USA), dir. Kent Jones
  • The Load (Serbia, France, Croatia, Iran, Qatar), dir. Ognjen Glavonić
  • The Chambermaid (Mexico), dir. Lila Avilés
  • Red Snow (Japan), dir. Sayaka Kai
  • Look At Me (Tunisia), dir. Nejib Belkhadhi
  • Irina (Bulgaria), dir. Nadejda Koseva
  • Vanishing Days (China), dir. Zhu Xin
  • Urgent (Morocco, Switzerland), dir. Mohcine Besri
  • Rojo (Argentina, Brazil, France, The Netherlands, Germany), dir. Benjamín Naishtat
  • Akasha (Sudan, South Africa, Germany, Qatar), dir. Hajooj Kuka
  • The Giraffe (Egypt), dir. Ahmed Magdy
  • All Good (Germany), dir. Eva Trobisch

Moroccan Panorama

  • Volubilis (Walili), dir. Faouzi Bensaïdi
  • We Could Be Heroes (Documentary), dir. Hind Bensari
  • The Healer, dir. Mohamed Zineddaine
  • Sofia, dir. Meryem Benm’barek
  • Stateless, dir. Narjiss Nejjar
  • Catharsys, Or The Afina Tales Of The Lost World, dir. Yassine Marco Marroccu
  • Jahiliya, dir. Hicham Lasri

The full line-up can be found here –

Editor-in-Chief of Movie Marker. Likes: Scorsese, Spielberg and Tarantino Dislikes: The film 'Open Water' I mean, what was that all about?